It will all be over soon – short story

Nightmare – the Daily Prompt

 “Don’t worry, it will all be over soon.”

I woke up bawling. Completely bat shit crazy, howling at the moon kind of crying.

I looked around, safely snuggled into my bed next to my husband. The moon dimly lit my room, casting strange shadows on the walls. But they were familiar, the same shadows that visited every night.

I closed my eyes and rolled over, pulling the blanket up to my chin. Drifting, drifting…

“Don’t worry, it will all be over soon.”

I was jolted awake again, heart pounding like an ancient tribal drum; loud and strong inside my chest.

This time I sat up. What the hell was wrong with me?  This vivid dream was haunting me even as I sat in bed awake. I tried to muffle my cries as to not wake my husband. That worked for a while, until the irrational thoughts charged back into my mind.

“Don’t worry, it will all be over soon.”

I cried. The ugly kind of sobbing cry when snot is dripping down your face and you’re smearing tears everywhere to try and dry your eyes.

I walked into the bathroom and turned on the light. Surely erasing the darkness would clear things up. I returning to the bed, shaking my husband awake. He squinted as he opened his eyes, exposing them to the bright, sterile light from the bathroom.

“What’s wrong baby?” he said, cradling my head in his chest. He rocked me softly as my tears soaked his shirt.

“I…” I stuttered, sucking in air before coughing it back up. “I… I had the worst nightmare of my life.”

I recounted the vividness; it was what I imagined a terrible acid flashback would be like.  So clear, like it was real and I was there.  Every time I closed my eyes, it reappeared just as sharp as before.  Maybe night terrors were a side effect of the fertility drugs I’d been injecting?

“And then it was time for me to do my needles, and my dad was there.  He said “Don’t worry, it will all be over soon,” and then injected me with something to put me to sleep,”  I sobbed violently, curling tighter into a ball in my husband’s arms. “Forever.”

“He killed me.”

Leave a Reply

